3735 S Hwy 27
Clermont, FL 34711
You need a specific amount of coverage for one person in bodily injury liability, but for two or more persons in bodily injury liability, the minimum coverage only goes up to a higher limit. For property damage liability, you need to be covered per crash. Keep in mind that these are just the state’s minimum requirements, so depending on your personal circumstances, more coverage may be a good idea. We highly recommend you look into higher levels of coverage such as collision and comprehensive policies. This may be required by a lender if you have a loan on your bike.
Even though Florida is considered a “no-fault” state, meaning that you are required to have personal injury protection (PIP) coverage for your car, this law does not apply to motorcyclists.
If you are at least 21 years old and have $10,000 minimum in medical coverage, you are not required, but are nevertheless encouraged, to wear a helmet while operating your motorcycle. You must, regardless of age or medical insurance coverage, wear eye protection while operating your motorcycle, unless your motorcycle has a windshield.
Before searching for an insurance provider, it is important to understand what your state’s minimum motorcycle insurance requirements are.
While most states’ motorcycle insurance laws mirror their car insurance laws, Florida does not. In order to further determine insurance requirements for your two-wheeled vehicle, you should call the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) for clarification. An agent with Singh Insurance and Financial Services, LLC in Clermont, FL can also help you.
Once you are sure that you are ready to find a policy for your bike, you should contact a licensed insurance agent about getting the correct coverage for your vehicle. Here are Florida’s minimum insurance requirements for motorcycles, which you should keep in mind when searching for coverage: